Home » Personal » Looking back…

Looking back…

19936_1327943155387_692089_n      When I was obese I used to think of what my ‘Super power’ would be, if I had one. I realized after giving it some thought that I had one- I was ‘Invisible-Man’. So many times through my life I felt like I was invisible, no one saw me for who I was inside- hardly anyone would look me in the eyes when they talked to me. Going out in public to shop or eat out was a very stressful thing. There were sometimes when I went out without my super power armed and there were times when people looked at me there was a look of pity, mixed with a look of disgust…then they would quickly look away as my ‘invisibility’ took over. Looking back at it & reading my old journal entries, it was a self defense mechanism. I was not ready to accept the truth that I needed to change. So I continued doing my best to be invisible, sometimes being harder than others.
     When I flatlined in 2010 I had to have an emergency surgery to bust the blood clots in my lungs- while I was awake. I lied on that table, my layers of fat taped up over my shoulders, there was no invisible power…only the harsh reality of what I had done to myself. That ‘invisible-man’ power that I so often resorted too, was nothing more than denial. As I looked up at the mirrored light above me while they went in through my groin and awaiting their orders to hold my breath etc I knew for sure that if I made it through things were going to change. My biggest regret is that it took me such an extreme moment to wake up.

Gym, 5.5 mile walk, meals planned for the week. All complete! Time to relax!

Leave a comment